Thirty-one Pirelli GT4 America Sprint, SprintX Entries Set to do Battle at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park

17 May 2019 Sprint, SprintX, SprintX E

Sprint, SprintX, SprintX East Series Back in Action in Canada's Storied Circuit

BOWMANVILLE, ONT. - The Pirelli GT4 America Sprint and SprintX series will be back in action this coming weekend at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park's legendary 3.957-km (2.459-mi.) Grand Prix circuit. Thirty-one teams across both championships piloting machinery from 10 of the world's top manufacturers will compete May 17-19.

The Pirelli GT4 America Sprint series features a single-driver, 50-minute double-header race weekend, while SprintX showcases a pair of two-driver, 60-minute races with pit stops.

Pirelli GT4 America Sprint Series Rounds 10 and 11

In the Pro Division, six drivers representing Panoz, Chevrolet, McLaren, Porsche and KTM will lock horns looking to stand on the top step in Canadian Tire Motorsport Park's (CTMP) victory circle. Ian James and Gar Robinson come into the weekend tied for the lead in driver championship points with 68 points each. James won Round 1 and will pilot the #50 Panoz Avezzano GT4, while Robinson has four top three finishes so far this season and will pilot the #74 Chevrolet Camaro GT4.

Three-time series champion Michael Cooper won Round 2 at Long Beach and sits third in championship points – he will drive the #10 Blackdog Speed Shop McLaren 570S GT4. Spencer Pumpelly had a dominating flag-to-flag win on the Streets of Long Beach in Round 3. He will pilot the #66 TRG – The Racers Group Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR.

Shane Lewis will get behind the wheel of the #72 Chevrolet Camaro GT4 – his best finish of 2019 so far was a third in Round 2. Rounding out the Pro Division, the #71 KTM X-bow will be piloted by Nicolai Elghanayan. 

In what promises to be a very competitive weekend of GT4 Am Division racing, the top 5 competitors running in the class all fall within a 11-point spread in the driver's championship standings. Jarett Andretti sits a single point ahead of Matthew Fassnacht (51 to 50) and will pilot the #18 McLaren 570S GT4. Fassnacht comes off impressive back-to-back victories at VIR and will drive the #53 Mercedes-AMG GT4. Driving the #12 Ford Mustang GT4, Drew Staveley sits only two-points behind Fassnacht with 48 points, while Alan Brynjolfsson sits at 45 points and will drive the #7 Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR. #11 McLaren 570S GT4 driver Tony Gaples is a series veteran with over 160 starts – he comes into the weekend with 40 points.

Completing the field are Jason Bell in the #2 GMG Racing Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR, Sean Quinlan in the #19 BMW M4 GT4, Frank Gannett piloting the #24 Ford Mustang GT4, Mark Klenin in the #62 McLaren 570S GT4, and lone Canadian entered in class,  Thomas Collingwood in the #169 Porsche Cayman GT4 CS-MR.

Jason Hart and Matt Travis Lead SprintX Field Heading to CTMP

Several Sprint GT4 drivers will do double duty and co-pilot SprintX machinery entered for CTMP. Porsche will be well represented by several teams including Matt Travis and Jason Hart who have so far had a dominating 2019 campaign winning all four SprintX contests – they will co-pilot the #47 NOLASPORT Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR. Other Porsche teams include Sean Gibbons and Derek DeBoer in the #17 TRG – The Racers Group Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR, Stuart Briscoe and Andrew Davis in the #32 Kelly-Moss Road & Race Porsche Cayman GT4 CS-MR, Canadian Thomas Collingwood and John Tecce in the #69 BGB Motorsports Group Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR, and Alan Brynjolfsson and Trent Hindman #77 Park Place Motorsports Porsche Cayman GT4 CS-MR.

BMW will be well represented as well. Sean Quinlan and Gregory Liefooghe sit second overall in class championship points and will co-drive the #19 Stephen Cameron Racing BMW M4 GT4. The team of Chris Ohmacht and Toby Grahovec will drive the #92 Classic BMW M4 GT4, James Clay and Randy Mueller will co-pilot the Epic Motorsports #3 BMW M4 GT4, John Allen and Kris Wilson will drive the #16 Auto Technic Racing BMW M4 GT4 while Justin Raphael and Stevan McAleer will co-pilot the #29 Classic BMW BMW M4 GT4.

Ginetta, McLaren, Audi, Panoz and Ford will also have entries in the field: Anthony Geraci and Elivan Goulart will run the #27 KRUGSPEED Ginetta G55; Jarett Andretti and Canadian Karl Thomson will share duties in the #36 Andretti Autosport McLaren 570S GT4; Eric Palmer and Greg Palmer will drive the Kelly-Moss/Photon Motorsports #44 Audi R8 LMS GT4; Preston Calvert and Matt Keegan will drive the #51 Team Panoz Racing Panoz Avezzano GT, and Rich Golinello and Nate Stacy will co-pilot the #55 Kohr Motorsports Ford Mustang GT4.

GT4 classes get their first official track time starting with Sprint practice on Thursday at 5 pm. Qualifying begins Friday at 1:05 pm, with the first Pirelli GT4 America SprintX race set for a green flag start at 5:30 pm on Friday.

All Sprint and SprintX races will be streamed live on and via audio simulcast on SiriusXM satellite radio Ch. 383 (983 on the app). CBS Sports Network coverage for Sprint races at CTMP airs June 1st at 2:30 pm EDT with SprintX coverage immediately following at 3:30 pm EDT. Check your local listings for additional broadcast time and channel information.