GT4 SprintX Teams prepare to charge The Glen for Next Round of Competition

23 August 2019 SprintX, SprintX E

WATKINS GLEN, NY – Pirelli GT4 America SprintX and SprintX East teams and drivers are set to return to the track August 30 to September 1 at Watkins Glen International presented by CrowdStrike. Twenty-three entries across both series will compete in two 60-minute races at the scenic 11-turn, 3.4-mile road course.

Can Hart and Travis Continue their Hot Streak at The Glen?

In SprintX competition, the NOLASPORT Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR driving duo of Matt Travis and Jason Hart have had a phenomenal season to date behind the wheel of their #47 machine. With a win and a second at Portland in July, the team has racked up six wins and has not finished off the podium in 10 races. With 216 points each they sit atop the driver’s standings heading into the weekend, while NOLASPORT holds the lead in the team standings. The team’s performance has helped Porsche secure the top position in the manufacturer’s standings entering the weekend.

While the NOLASPORT duo have dominated thus far this season, they still have work to do to close out the championship with six races remaining. The Stephen Cameron Racing team of Sean Quinlan and Gregory Liefooghe have also had a good season and sit only 33 points behind the leaders, well within striking distance. The duo have three wins to date and have only finished off the podium once in 10 races. They will drive the #19 BMW M4 GT4. The team have helped BMW slot into second in the manufacturer’s championship standings.

The Classic BMW team of Chris Ohmacht and Toby Grahovec come into the weekend sitting tied for third in the driver’s standings with 66 points each and will look to play the spoiler role. The driver duo will pilot the #92 BMW M4 GT4.

The Flying Lizard Motorsports team of Michael Dinan and Robby Foley sit 10 points behind Ohmacht and Grahovec and will drive the #21 Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR. Colin Mullan and Jarett Andretti will co-pilot the #36 Andretti Autosport McLaren 570S GT4, while series veterans GMG Racing bring their #2 Audi R8 LMS GT4 for Jason Bell and Andrew Davis.

Completing the SprintX Pro/Am division entries for Watkins Glen are Charlie Bellaurdo and Jan Heylen in the #37 RS1 Porsche Cayman GT4 CS-MR, Ben Anderson and Warren Dexter in the #63 Dexter Racing Ginetta G55, Aristotle Balogh and Tom Dyer in the #190 Stephen Cameron Racing BMW M4 GT4 and Mark Ramsey and Alexandre Premat in the #592 Ramsey Racing/EXR-Team by Premat Mercedes-AMG GT4.

Can Allen and Wilson Close the Gap on Leaders Calvert and Keegan in SprintX Am?

In the SprintX Am division, Preston Calvert and Matthew Keegan have won five races thus far this season including an impressive sweep of the Sonoma weekend. Sitting atop the division driver’s championship standings with 177 points the duo will co-pilot the #51 Team Panoz Racing Panoz Avezzano GT.  Calvert and Keegan’s efforts have elevated Panoz to third in the manufacturer’s standings.

Only 15 points behind the Panoz Racing team is the driver duo of John Allen and Kris Wilson. While the team has yet to secure a win this season, they have impressively only finished off the podium twice in 10 races. They will pilot the #16 Auto Technic Racing BMW M4 GT4.

GMG Racing team principle and veteran series driver James Sofronas will co-pilot the #04 Audi R8 LMS GT4 with CJ Moses. Sofronas sits third in the driver’s standings. Rearden Racing’s Jeff Burton and Vesko Kozarov scored back-to-back wins earlier this season at Virginia International Raceway and could play a major factor this weekend – they will co-drive the #91 Audi R8 LMS GT4.

Wittmer Holds Slim Two-Point Lead Over Raphael and McAleer

In SprintX East Pro/Am competition, Canadian Karl Wittmer comes into the weekend leading in driver’s championship points with 96. He will co-pilot the #24 Ian Lacy Racing Ford Mustang GT4 alongside Frank Gannett. Sitting only two points behind Wittmer and tied for second in the driver’s standings is the Classic BMW team of Justin Raphael and Stevan McAleer – they will co-pilot the #29 BMW M4 GT4.

The Park Place Motorsports duo of Alan Brynjolfsson and Trent Hindman come into the weekend tied in third with 77 points – identical to the team’s number 77 for their Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR. Anthony Geraci and Elivan Goulart sit tied for fourth in the standings with 71 points and will drive the #27 KRUGSPEED Ginetta G55. Rounding out the SprintX East Pro/Am field is the #89 RENNtech Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT4 for Patrick Byrne and Guy Cosmo.

Seven Drivers in the Mix for SprintX East Am Championship Lead

With a total of only 19 points separating the top seven competitors in the driver’s championship standings, this weekend’s pair of SprintX East Am races will be hotly contested. The TRG - The Racers Group driver Sean Gibbons comes into the weekend atop the driver’s championship standings with 103. He will co-drive the #17 Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR with Derek DeBoer.

James Clay and Randy Mueller sit only two points behind Gibbons in the standings and will co-pilot the #3 Epic Motorsports BMW M4 GT4. BGB Motorsports Group’s #69 Porsche 718 Cayman CS MR will have Thomas Collingwood and John Tecce behind the wheel – they come into the weekend tied for third with 96 points, while Murillo Racing’s Matthew Fassnacht and Christian Szymczak will co-drive the #34 Mercedes-AMG GT4. Fassnacht and Szymczak are tied for fourth with 84 points each.

Over 100 cars will be competing at ‘The Glen’ in SRO’s three series – Blancpain GT World Challenge America, Pirelli GT4 America and TC America. GT4 America SprintX and SprintX East teams and drivers get their first official track time starting with practice #1 on Friday, August 30 at 9:40 am EST. Qualifying begins Saturday, August 31 at 10 am EST, with the first SprintX race set for a green flag start later that day at 5:50 pm EST.

All SprintX races will be streamed live on and via audio simulcast on SiriusXM satellite radio Ch. 385 (980 on the web stream). CBS Sports Network coverage for SprintX races at Watkins Glen airs September 8 at 1 pm EDT. Check your local listings for additional broadcast time and channel information.


Pirelli GT4 America SprintX ENTRY LIST - PDF LINK
Official Timetable – PDF LINK