Pirelli GT4 America SprintX Returns to COTA for Rounds 12 and 13

11 September 2020 SprintX

Austin, TXPirelli GT4 America SprintX teams return to where it all began this year as competitors head to Austin, Texas’ Circuit of the Americas, replacing the Watkins Glen International event. 24 cars will line up for rounds 12 and 13 of a highly-contested season that sees any of the Driver, Team and Manufacturer titles still up for grabs in the two-driver SprintX series.

NOLASPORT will field an army of Porsches with three 718 Cayman GT4s being prepped. Am class point leaders Sean Gibbons and Zac Anderson will pilot the #7 while fellow Am competitors David Walker and Russell Walker drive the #46. Pro-Am class leaders Matt Travis and Jason Hart will attempt to stave off Team and Driver challengers in the #47 car.

GMG Racing enters a single Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 in the Pro-Am division for Andrew Davis and Jason Bell with the #2 car. Team and Drivers currently sit fourth in their respective championship standings and are within reach of the top spots in each.

TRG’s James Rappaport and Derek DeBoer look to better their second-place Am driver championship standings in the #17 Porsche 718 Cayman GT4.

RS1 will also field the #37 Porsche Cayman CS MR GT4 for Jan Heylen and Charlie Belluardo in Pro-Am.

Leading the McLaren contingent of competitors, Silver division points leaders Andretti Autosport return with their #36 Window World of Michigan McLaren 570S GT4 with Jarrett Andretti and Colin Mullan sharing driver duties.

Motorsport USA’s #3 and #111 McLaren 570S GT4s, helmed by Michael McAleenan and Dan Rogers and Ty Clarke and Todd Clarke respectively, will both look to improve their season standings in the Am class.

Flying Lizard Motorsports bring the #30 McLaren 570S GT4 for Michael Cooper and Erin Vogel in Pro-Am and the #21 Aston Martin Vantage GT4 for Robby Foley and Michael Dinan, who currently sit second in the Pro-Am standings after taking the round 11 win at Road America.

Notlad Racing by RS1 will field another Pro-Am classed #33 Aston Martin Vantage GT4 for Patrick Gallagher and Joe Dalton, a pairing who finished on the podium at Road America’s Race 1 and will try to bring that momentum swing to Texas.

Rearden Racing also looking to re-energize their campaign of the  #91 Aston Martin Vantage GT4 for Vesko Kozarov and Jeff Burton after a sixth-place post-repair recovery at Road America.

Kenton Koch and Bryan Putt will pilot the Bsport Racing #15 Aston Martin Vantage GT4, the duo sit sixth in the championship after finishing on the podium twice at Road America.

Stephen Cameron Racing fields the #19 BMW M4 GT4 for Greg Liefooghe and Sean Quinlan in Pro-Am. The 2019 champions currently sit seventh in the standings but are not out of top spot contention just yet.

Tim Barber and Cole Ciraulo, namesakes of the #25 CCR Racing Team TFB BMW M4 GT4 and winners of Round 8 at Sonoma Raceway, will continue to work their way up the leaderboard with the Team and Driver championships both still within grasp.

Classic BMW enters the #26 BMW M4 GT4 for Toby Grahovec and Chandler Hull in the Silver category, who took the race 2 win at VIRginia International Raceway. They will battle it out with both of ST Racing’s Silver class entries with second-place standing Nick Wittmer and Harry Gottsacker sharing the #28, and Jon Miller and Samantha Tan switching off in the #38.

BimmerWorld continues the ProAm hunt in the #82 BMW M4 GT with Bill Auberlen and James Walker Jr, winners of Road America Race 1, returning to the hot seat for the double-header weekend.

Panoz Racing’s second late start of the season has drivers Preston Calvert and Roman De Angelis contesting ProAm in the #51 and Matt Keegan and Ian James in the #50. Both entries will run the series’ only entries from the manufacturer, the Panoz Esperante Avezzano.

Dexter Racing will also field the weekend’s only Ginetta entry in the #63 Ginetta G55 GT4. Drivers Warren Dexter and Ben Anderson are competing in the Silver class. 

The last single manufacturer entry belongs to Marco Polo Motorsports, fielding the the #71 KTM X-Bow GT4. Mads Siljehaug and Nicolai Elghanayan took the KTM to the top of the last race at Road America, winning a trifecta of accolades with both Silver and Overall wins and Fast Lap of the race.. 

Pirelli GT4 America SprintX action begins on Thursday, September 17th with practice and qualifying with Race 1 on Friday, September 18th. Follow all sessions live at https://www.gt4-america.com/live.


COTA Entry List - PDF Link

COTA Event Schedule - PDF Link