Respect The Bumps: The Pirelli GT4 America Field Takes on Sebring in Penultimate Round

15 September 2023


Silver Class Championship Coming Down to the Wire

PRO-AM battles Heating Up
BimmerWorld Pulls Ahead in the AM Class
Entry List  

The Pirelli GT4 America is bracing for a busy weekend as it makes its way to Sebring International Raceway for the penultimate round of the championship. A total of 36 cars across the Silver, PRO-AM and AM Classes will be taking on the famous bumps across three races, and the championship battles continue to ramp up as the season approaches its final stages. The sweltering Florida heat and rough terrain will serve as no small challenges for these fierce competitors, but it still remains to be seen who will emerge on top.  

Silver Class

There was no shortage of action last time out at the National Park of Speed, with Jesse Webb and Michai Stephens claiming a dominant win in Race One at Road America in the No. 34 Conquest Racing / JMF Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT4. As for Race Two, it was the No. 51 Auto Technic Racing BMW M4 GT4 of Zac Anderson who came out on top. The two championship frontrunners will be the ones to watch this round as the race to the top of the leaderboard closes in.  

The No. 92 Random Vandals Racing BMW M4 GT4 of Kevin Boehm and Kenton Koch secured back-to-back second-place finishes in the previous round, and the duo will be on the hunt for another podium result as they continue to extend their streak of consistency. Fellow BMW competitors Chandler Hull and Jon Miller will be challenged to do the same in their No. 88 STR38 Motorsports BMW M4 GT4.

Parker Thompson and Daniel Hanley also stood on the podium with a third-place finish in Race Two on board their No. 999 Hanley Motorsports Toyota GR Supra GT4 EVO, with Tyler Maxson and Tyler Gonzalez also looking to make a return to the podium in the No. 74 Copeland Motorsports Toyota GR Supra GT4 EVO.

Francis Selldorff and Andrew Davis will also be back on track in the No. 19 ACI Motorsports Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport, with Rory van der Steur and Jamie Day returning as well with their No. 119 van der Steur Racing Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT4.

PRO-AM Class

There was a wide variety of podium finishers at Road America in the PRO-AM Class. BimmerWorld had another strong showing as Tyler McQuarrie and James Walker Jr. secured first and third-place finishes in the No. 82 BimmerWorld BMW M4 GT4. Gray Newell and Roman De Angelis secured the other race win in the No. 24 Heart of Racing Team Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT4. 

Second-place finishes were occupied by Porsche entries, with Curt Swearingin and Kay van Berlo claiming the result in Race One in the No. 7 ACI Motorsports Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport, with Jason Hart and Matt Travis doing the same in Race Two in No. 47 NOLASPORT Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport. The final podium result was claimed by the No. 8 Flying Lizard Motorsports Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT4 of Elias Sabo and Andy Lee.

A second Flying Lizard Motorsports entry will be making an appearance at Sebring, with Jason Bell and Michael Cooper getting behind the wheel of the No. 2 Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT4. Ross Chouest and Aaron Povoledo will also once again be a part of the Aston Martin brigade, equipped with the No. 50 Chouest Povoledo Racing Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT4.

The two TechSport Racing entries will be returning as well, with Eric Powell and Colin Harrison, and Bryan Heitkotter and Tyler Stone taking on Sebring in the No. 22 and No. 23 Nissan Z GT4 cars. Toyota will also be fielding two entries, with No. 37 Skip Barber Racing School Toyota Gazoo Racing GR Supra GT4 of Matt Forbush and Carter Fartuch, and the No. 68 Smooge Racing Toyota Gazoo Racing GR Supra GT4 of John Geesbreght and Kevin Conway.

After finishing just shy of a podium in the final race at Road America, Colin Garrett and Johan Schwartz will be giving it their best shot to return to the Top Three in the No. 44 Rooster Hall Racing BMW M4 GT4. Meanwhile, new teammate pairing Custodio Toledo and Cedric Sbirrazzuoli will also be seeking to make their mark in the No. 35 Conquest Racing / JMF Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT4.

AM Class

BimmerWorld’s James Clay and Charlie Postins have been the clear ones to beat this season, securing podium finishes in all but one race so far this season. After claiming double wins at Road America in the No. 36 BimmerWorld BMW M4 GT4, they will be fully focused on furthering their winning streak.  

BMW competitors were extremely competitive last time out, with Rob Walker and Satakal Khalsa securing a second-place finish in the No. 253 Auto Technic Racing BMW M4 GT4 in Race Two; the No. 98 Random Vandals Racing BMW M4 GT4 of Paul Sparta and Al Carter also had a very strong weekend with a second finish in Race One followed by a third-place result in Race Two. The No. 438 STR38 Motorsports BMW G82 M4 GT4 of Chris Allen and Robert Mau were just short of the podium and will be looking to make their return.  

Jaden Lander and Anthony Geraci took home the remaining podium finish in their No. 72 KRUGSPEED Toyota GR Supra GT4 EVO. They will be joined by two more Toyota entries with the No. 20 Carrus Callas Raceteam Toyota Gazoo Racing GR Supra GT4 of Terry Borcheller and Nicholas Shanny, and the No. 67 Smooge Racing machine of Isabella Robusto and Joey DaSilva.  

The No. 89 RENNtech Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT4 of Michael Auriemma and Tommy Johnson had a strong fourth-place finish in the prior round and will be on a mission to one-up themselves in Florida. Hannah Grisham and Rianna O’Meara-Hunt faced challenges but will be aiming to bounce back with a vengeance in their No. 26 of Heart of Racing Team Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT4. Nick Longhi and Kaia Teo will also be back in the No. 80 Crucial Motorsports car as the lone McLaren Artura GT4 in the field.

Porsche will once again be fielding the largest number of entries in the class. The No. 09 Zotz Racing/ CCDP Racing Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport of Chris Ruppel and Eric Zitza, the No. 18 RS1 machine of Austin and Roland Krainz, the No. 52 car of David Peterman and Lee Carpentier, the No. 58 ACI Motorsports entry of Richard Edge and Matt Halcome, and the No. 83 Nolasport of Nelson Calle and Juan Pablo Martinez will all be facing the notorious Sebring bumps.

Let’s Go Racing

The GT4 America field is set to kick off the season during Practice One on Thursday, September 21. Tickets are available for purchase with kids free under 16 years old. To follow the race from home, join free livestream coverage on the GT World YouTube page or enjoy our Twitch Watch-Alongs with host AshVandeley at SROMotorsports.

Following Sebring, one final challenge awaits the Fanatec GT grid – the Indianapolis 8 Hour presented by AWS. Tickets are on sale starting at just $20 dollars.