Bumper Pirelli GT4 America Field Ready for Sebring Challenge

Bumper Pirelli GT4 America Field Ready for Sebring Challenge

The upcoming round of the Pirelli GT4 America championship at the iconic Sebring International Raceway comes with promises of great competition as the series welcomes an exhilarating blend of fresh faces and seasoned competitors at one of the most challenging circuits in the world.

Although the championship is still in its early stages, the battles that have taken place across all three Silver, Pro-Am, and Am classes thus far have been nothing short of exhilarating and inspiring, with more action on the Florida horizon.

Those in attendance at Sebring can expect unparalleled access to the heart of the action, with an expansive paddock offering direct access to teams and drivers, along with accompanying autograph sessions, a Car Corral, and a pre-race grid walk on Sunday to close out the weekend fun ahead of the Fanatec GT World Challenge America powered by AWS race.

Silver Class

After just one round, the Silver Class championship is already serving up tight battles across multiple teams and manufacturers. The Top 3 are separated by only 4 points between them, and the intensity will only continue to ramp up as the season progresses.

John Geesbreght and Tyler Gonzalez currently lead the charge with 37 points in the No. 68 Smooge Racing Toyota Gazoo Racing GR Supra GT4 EVO, only one point ahead of Kenton Koch and Kevin Boehm in the No. 97 Random Vandals Racing BMW M4 GT4. Sitting in third with 33 points is 2023 Driver’s Champion Zac Anderson, accompanied by 2023 TC America Champion Colin Garrett in the No. 51 AutoTechnic Racing BMW M4 GT4.

The remaining Silver entries also remain well within striking distance, with 2022 GT4 Champion and 2023 GT World Challenge America Champion Eric Filgueiras in search of another title, joined by John Capestro-Dubets in the No. 28 RS1 Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport. 2023 Vice Champion Michai Stephens also remains in hot pursuit alongside Jonathan Neudorf in the No. 23 TechSport Racing Nissan Z NISMO GT4, with Daniel Hanley and Parker Thompson looking to apply pressure in the No. 999 Hanley Motorsports Toyota Gazoo Racing GR Supra GT4 EVO.

Demi Chalkias and Jake Cowden, who are in their rookie season in the series, also showed great promise in the No. 34 JMF Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT4 and will be looking to keep the momentum going into Sebring.

Pro-Am Class

James Walker Jr. and Tyler McQuarrie have taken the early lead following a first and third-place finish in the opening round at Sonoma on board the No. 82 BimmerWorld BMW M4 GT4, the duo already poised to be frontrunners in the championship hunt. The other win belonged to Michael Auriemma and Matheus Leist in the No. 89 RENNtech Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT4, who currently follow by 7 points in the standings.

The rest of the Top 5 are also in close quarters, with Gray Newell and Roman De Angelis off to a strong start in the No. 24 Heart of Racing Team Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT4, occupying third place on the leaderboard with 30 points. Curt Swearingin and Kay Van Berlo are just two points behind them in the No. 7 ACI Motorsports Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport, with Eric Powell and Colin Harrison joining the mix in No. 22 TechSport Racing Nissan Z NISMO GT4 with 25 points.

Todd Parriott and Tom Dyer also return in the No. 13 Flying Lizard Motorsports Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT4, accompanied by fellow Flying Lizard Motorsports teammates Damir Hot and Stefan Rzadzinski in the No. 5 Nissan Z NISMO GT4. Tony Gaples will also once again be fielding a Nissan Z NISMO GT4 entry with his No. 9 Blackdog Speed Shop car.

Alex Vogel and Matt Bell will be back on the grid at Sebring with the No. 43 P1 Groupe Mercedes-AMG GT4, with the new pairing of Johan Schwartz and Dan Dyszelski completing the class field in the No. 635 RySpec Racing Mercedes-AMG GT4.

Am Class

Hannah Grisham and Hannah Greenemeier gave the Heart of Racing Team many reasons to celebrate as the new teammate pairing took the opening win of the season in their No. 26 Aston Martin Vantage AMR GT4 and followed it up with another podium result in Race 2.

Paul Sparta and Kris Wilson proved that consistency is key, as the pairing presently sits second in the standings following two consecutive second-place results for the No. 98 Random Vandals Racing BMW M4 GT4. Matt Million and Troy Lindstrom clinched the Race 2 win in the No. 53 AutoTechnic Racing BMW M4 GT4, and complete the Top 3 at the moment just four points behind.

Fourth to sixth place are all separated by one point apiece, with Anthony Geraci and Lance Bergstein retaining 16 points from the opening round in the No. 72 KRUGSPEED Toyota Gazoo Racing GR Supra GT4 EVO, followed by 15 points for last year’s Champions James Clay and Charlie Postins in the No. 36 BimmerWorld BMW M4 GT4, and 14 points allocated to Robb Holland and Jaden Lander in the No. 099 Rotek Racing Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport.

Nicholas Shanny and Terry Borcheller will be in the mix as well with the No. 20 Carrus Callas Raceteam BMW M4 GT4, accompanied by a plethora of Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport competitors, with Sean Gibbons and Sam Owen in the No. 17 OGH Motorsports entry, Roland Krainz and Austin Krainz manning the No. 18 RS1 car, David Peterman and Lee Carpentier in the No. 052 NOLASPORT machine, and Steve Schneider and Seth Thomas commanding the No. 60 NOLASPORT entry.

The No. 80 Orlando Motorsports Services McLaren Artura GT4 will also be joining the championship for select rounds, including Sebring, co-driven by Kaia Teo and Nick Longhi.

Let’s Get Racing

The GT4 America field is set to take to the track during Practice 1 on Friday, May 3rd. Click here for the full schedule of the GT4 America weekend.

If you can’t make it to Sebring, be sure to tune-in to SRO’s free livestreams all weekend long on YouTube (GTWorld) and Twitch (SROMotorsports) and follow all the action through our social media channels and the event hashtag #GTSebring.